What is KS2 Maths?

KS2 stands for Key Stage 2. In England & Wales, all children in school years 3, 4, 5 & 6 (ages 7-11) are in Key Stage 2. Children are taught many subjects over these years but will only be tested on Maths &amp English. Throughout Key Stage 2 Maths, children begin to learn and apply number skills, learn more about shape &amp space and are taught how to handle data.


In May 2014, all children just about to complete Year 6 will take KS2 SATs tests in Maths and English. SATs stands for Standard Assessment Tasks. The Maths SATs are comprised of 2 written tests;  a non-calculator (Paper A) and a calculator-based paper (Paper B), and an additional mental maths test. Depending on how well your child does in these tests, they will be awarded one of the Levels 3, 4 or 5; 4 is the expected level. If your child is doing particularly well in Maths, they may also be entered into the extra Level 6 papers, of which there are two: Paper 1 and Paper 2.


2014 Exam Dates

The SATs exams for 2014 run from Monday 12th May to Friday 16th May
Wednesday 14th May – Mental Maths, Maths Paper 1
Thursday 15th May – Maths Paper 2, Level 6 Maths

Level 3, 4 or 5

Depending on their performance, children will be awarded a Level 3, 4 or 5. Within these levels there are sub-levels, a, b and c. These sub-levels indicate whereabouts within their level they are currently performing; a 4a is one better than a 4b, whilst a 4c is one better than a 3a. Your child could possibly gain a level 6 is they average over 50% in the extra exams.

National Curriculum

Click on this link to view the National Curriculum for children in primary school: National Curriculum.