What is Degree Maths?

After A-Levels, students in the UK have the option to further their studies and go to University. Students at university are known as undergraduates. There are numerous undergraduate programmes available but the most common to maths students is a Maths Bachelor’s Degree. Since maths is considered a science, a student completing this degree will become a Bachelor of Science, and will be awarded a BSc title. After receiving a scroll at graduation, students officially become graduates and are entitled to put these initials at the end of their names. A bachelor’s degree course typically lasts three academic years.

Degree Classification

Depending on the level of attainment, undergraduates will be awarded a degree with one of the following classes:

  • First Class Honours
  • Upper Second Class Honours (2:1)
  • Lower Second Class Honours (2:2)
  • Third Class Honours

A first class degree, for most of the Universities in the UK, is the highest level of degree that can be awarded.


There is no national curriculum for undergraduate degree programmes in the UK. Most programmes are modularised and the lecturer for each module is responsible for the content, the teaching and the assessments. The lecturer is also responsible for marking courseworks and exams, and moderators will be bought in to make sure marking is accurate and consistent. The Quality Assurance Agency, however, is an external independent agency that reviews the quality of university courses to make sure they are appropriate for higher education.